
THE STATE OF TEXAS 

COUNTY OF ARANSAS 

§ 
§ 
§ 

COMMISSIONERS' COURT 

SUPPLEMENTAL PROCLAMATION O'RVE'R #P0-21-2018-A 
AN ORDER OF ARANSAS COUNTY, TEXAS, SUPPLEMENTING ARANSAS COUNTY'S PROCLAMATION 
DISASTER DECLARATION RENEWAL ORDER #P0-21-2018 AND PROHIBITING OUTDOOR BURNING AND THE 
SALE AND POSSESSION OF ANY AND ALL FIREWORKS IN ARANSAS COUNTY 

WHEREAS, on the 23'd day of August 2017, Aransas County suffered widespread and severe damage and loss of 
property resulting from Hurricane Harvey, and, pursuant to Section 418.108 of the Texas Government Code, a local, 
county, and federal declaration of disaster was enacted for Aransas County; and 

WHEREAS, said local declaration of disaster has been continually renewed for Aransas County, and a current 
Proclamation Disaster Declaration Renewal Order (#P0-21-2018) dated May 23, 2018 has been filed with the 
County Clerk; and 

WHEREAS, as Aransas County has been and remains under a local Disaster Declaration, the Aransas County 
Judge has determined that a Supplemental Declaration Order is necessary to protect the citizens and property in 
Aransas County from the risk of fire due to greatly enhanced circumstances present in the unincorporated areas of 
the County that would be exacerbated by the use of outdoor burning and fireworks when local resources continue to 
be overwhelmed. 

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED by the County Judge of Aransas County, that all outdoor 
burning is prohibited in the unincorporated areas of the County for 90 days from the date of adoption of this 
Order, unless the restrictions are terminated earlier based on a determination made by the Commissioners' Court 
through its County Judge or the Declaration of Disaster is lifted and that the high hazard fire conditions no longer 
exist. This Order is adopted pursuant to Texas Government Code §418.108 and Local Government Code §352.081, 
and other applicable statutes. This Order does not prohibit outdoor burning activities related to public health and 
safety that are authorized by the Texas Natural Resources Commission for: (1) firefighter training; (2) public utility, 
natural gas pipeline or mining operations; (3) planting or harvesting of agricultural crops; or (4) burns that are 
conducted by a prescribed bum manager, in accordance with the Natural Resources Code. In accordance with Local 
Government Code §352. 081 (h) , a violation of this Order is a Class C Misdemeanor. 

NOW, THEREFORE, ALSO BE IT ORDERED BY THE COUNTY JUDGE OF ARANSAS COUNTY, 
TEXAS, pursuant to Texas Government Code §418.108 and local Proclamation Disaster Declaration Renewal 
Order of Aransas County, that no person may sell, purchase, detonate, ignite or in any way use fireworks of any 
kind whatsoever, including "permissible fireworks" as classified in Occupations Code, Section 2154.003(a) in any 
portion of the unincorporated areas of Aransas County. This Order does not prohibit a " licensed pyrotechnic 
operator or professional public display permit holder". This restriction shall expire 60 hours from the date of 
the adoption of this Order, unless extended by the Governor of the State of Texas. 

DULY ORDERED AND ADOPTED ON THIS 

FILE.::::::> 
AT t':fq? fJ. M. 

MAY 2 3 2018 
VALERIE K. AMASON 
COUNTY CLERK, ARANSAS CO., TEXAS 


